# Standing, Special Spiny Lobster and Socioeconomic SSC Meeting Summary Tampa, Florida June 1, 2016

The meeting of the Standing, Special Spiny Lobster and Socioeconomic SSC was convened at 2:45 pm on June 1, 2016. The agenda was approved and the minutes of the spiny lobster portion of the March 10, 2015 Standing, Special Shrimp and Special Spiny Lobster SSC meeting were approved as written.

## Review of the 2014/2015 and 2015/2016 (preliminary) Spiny Lobster Landings

Staff provided the SSC with the landings from the 2014-2015 spiny lobster season, and the preliminary landings from the 2015-2016 season. The ACT was exceeded in the 2014-2015 and both the ACT and the ACL has been exceeded in the 2015-2016. Staff then provided a summary of the review panel that met March 28, 2016 and the summary of the joint meeting of the SAFMC and GMFMC Spiny Lobster AP meeting from April 25, 2016. Both the review panel and the APs had recommended recalculating the ACL based on the landings data from 1991 to the 2015-2016 spiny lobster season. To do this, the ABC would need to be reevaluated by the SSC. The SSC discussed reevaluating the ABC and the OFL. The SSC discussed the previous rationale for using the short time period of 2000 to 2009. The SSC discussed potential reasons for the decline that was observed in 2000, but concluded that the stock seems to be fluctuating and that using the entire time series would be appropriate given that the rationale of a reduced stock for using a truncated time series is no longer relevant; the methodology would not change, just the input years. The SSC made the following motion:

The Committees recommend to use the time series of 1991-2015/2016 for an ABC/OFL calculation for Spiny Lobster.

Motion passed 15-5.

#### **SSC Members Present**

#### **Standing SSC**

Luiz Barbieri, Chair Jeff Isely Joe Powers, V. Chair Walter Keithly Lee Anderson Kai Lorenzen Benjamin Blount Paul Mickle Mary Christman Ken Roberts Steven Scyphers Bob Gill David Griffith Robert Shipp James Tolan Jack Isaacs

## **Reef Fish SSC**

Marcus (James) Drymon Robert Ellis

John Mareska

## Socioeconomic SSC

Matthew Freeman Sherry Larkin\* Gabriela Stocks

# **Shrimp SSC**

Richard Burris Ryan Gandy\* Jeffrey Marx James Nance

#### **Spiny Lobster SSC**

Ryan Gandy\* Sherry Larkin\*

#### **Council Staff Others**

C C CFIII C C C C C C C C C C C C C C C	0 11111	
Steven Atran	Roy Crabtree, NMFS/SERO	Shanae Allen
Assane Diagne	Susan Gerhart, NMFS/SERO	Michelle Mas
John Froeschke	Stephen Holiman, NMFS/SERO	Miles Archab
Doug Gregory	Mike Larkin, NMFS/SERO	J.P. Brooker,
Morgan Kilgour	Christina Package-Ward, NMFS/SERO	Todd Phillips
Ava Lasseter	Jessica Stephen, NMFS/SERO	Glenn Mitche
Ryan Rindone	Mike Travis, NMFS/SERO	Shelley Krueg
Charlotte Schiaffo	Clay Porch, NMFS/SEFSC	Sal Versaggi
Carrie Simmons	Matt Smith, NMFS/SEFSC	

n, FWRI si, FWRI

bal, Ocean Conserv. Ocean Conserv. s, Ocean Conserv. ell, Gnarus Advisors eger, FL Sea Grant

## **Council Representative**

Leann Bosarge

<sup>\*</sup> On more than one SSC