Standing and Special Shrimp SSC Meeting Summary Webinar March 8, 2016

The meeting of the Standing and Special Shrimp SSC was convened at 1:00 pm on March 8, 2016. The agenda was approved and the minutes of the March 10, 2015 Standing and Special Shrimp SSC meeting were approved as written.

Selection of SSC Representative at the April, 2016 Council Meeting

The SSC was notified that a representative was not necessary for the April, 2016, Council meeting because there were no items for the SSC to formally comment on at this meeting.

Penaeid Shrimp Stock Assessments

Rick Hart presented the updated stock assessments for brown, pink and white shrimp. Currently, all three species are not overfished nor are they undergoing overfishing. There were some questions about the decline in spawning stock biomass in the past years, but this was likely due to below average environmental parameters. There was more discussion on the F values for each species and how those values differ. It was clarified that the fishery is monitored for effort in the juvenile red snapper bycatch zone, but clarified that the effort in the zone is not directly proportional to effort throughout the whole fishery. The SSC had no concerns about the stock assessments, and by consensus, accepted the assessments as written.

Update on Aggregate MSY and OY Working Group

The SSC was notified about the results of the working group for establishing an aggregate MSY and an aggregate OY for the shrimp fishery. The working group met on March 2, 2016, so the final report was not available for the SSC to review. The SSC requested to see the final report before commenting on the working group's results.

The meeting adjourned at 2:05 p.m.

SSC Members Present

| | David Donaldson | Susan Gerhart, |
|--------------------|-----------------|--|
| James Tolan | | NMFS/SERO |
| Special Shrimp SSC | Council Staff | Chad Hanson, Pew |
| | Steven Atran | Environment Group |
| | Morgan Kilgour | Rick Hart, |
| • | Phyllis Miranda | NMFS/SEFSC |
| | Bernadine Roy | Julie Neer, SEDAR |
| • | • | Jenny Thompson, |
| James Nance | Others | Oceana |
| | | |
| <u>Council</u> | , | |
| Representative | MINITO/SERO | |
| | | Special Shrimp SSC Richard Burris Ryan Gandy Leslie Hartman Jeffrey Marx James Nance Council Council Council Staff Steven Atran Morgan Kilgour Phyllis Miranda Bernadine Roy Others Mike Travis, NMES/SERO |

Robert Shipp